Upstream: Selected Essays – Mary Oliver (2016)

❤️❤️❤️

When a poet writes prose, one can be sure to be swept away in the beauty and lyric of the writing. Such is the case with Mary Oliver’s essays. A compilation of her musings and meanderings of the natural world, literature and the artistic process, Upstream is Oliver’s gift to the prosaic world. She discusses her childhood “friend” Walt Whitman, her parents’ inexplicable permissiveness to her moving upstream, her belief that to produce art one must lose oneself completely, and neglect simple chores such as bill paying. For fans of Oliver, I caution the reader to be aware that this is NOT a memoir, though some essays are autobiographical. Do not approach this book with the expectation of learning simple facts, as that is not to be found. This compilation is a selection of lyrical essays that smudge the boundary between poetry and prose. I definitely feel this book is worth the read. (175 pages)

#upstream #maryoliver #prose #poetry #natural #literature #wilderness #lyrical #essays #essayist #poet #poetess #2016 #book #books #bookclub #readersofinstagram #reading #reader #booklove #bibliophile #bookstagram #bookstagrammer #booksbooksandmorebooks #bookclubofinstagram #kalidesautelsreads 

Processing…
Success! You’re on the list.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s